S’more Cookies

Chocolate Marshmallow cookies

marshmallow packetI found a packet of marshmallows in my pantry which was bought with the intent of making S’mores(cause everyone who lives in the US has to say that they have tried these). But somehow we never got down to sitting in front of a campfire and making S’mores.

Now here I am left with a HUGE packet and I had absolutely no idea what to do with them. Google to the Rescue!!! (Superhero soundtrack playing in the background) I found several recipes for “S’more cookies”. So I decided to try them out.

Made just like regular cookies, with the added marshmallow bits, Marie Biscuit/Graham crackers and chocolate chips, to give it the extra ‘hipness’ or you could say ‘forever-on-the-hip’ness.

 

I just couldn’t resist licking the cookie batter every once in a while. Now this is a pleasure, anyone who bakes cakes or cookies knows – you have to be a batter biter. So if you haven’t tried this out before, head to the kitchen and whip up a butter-sugar mixture, nibble on it and tell me you don’t want to come back for more. I wouldn’t recommend tasting the batter after the egg is added.

Using an ice cream scoop I managed to get 20 cookies. I’d recommend using just a tablespoon next time, as the cookies get bigger. I like it when they are bite size. They look cute too. (If I can call food that!)

Cookies in the oven 

Anyway, in the oven they went and in about 10-12 min, they were done. Just the smell and aroma had my mouth salivating. I couldn’t wait to dig into them.

I did have a bit of problem getting it off the parchment paper. I realised my mistake, don’t let the marshmallow get to the bottom of the cookie. It tends to stick to the paper, giving it a hard time to remove the cookie. So instead of mixing the marshmallow in the cookie batter as most recipes say, just sprinkle them on top.

Oh oh!! That also reminds me, have you ever tried cutting a marshmallow. It is the most disastrous thing! It sticks to your knife, your fingers, your cutting board…. It just hangs on for dear life. So in the middle of my “marshmallow butchering” I had to stop and Google for “how to cut marshmallows”. I know that sounds absolutely hilarious, but I was desperate! Did you know that there is a YouTube video too. I had a hearty laugh.

 Getting back on track, in case you haven’t looked it up already, the trick is to wet the knife and your hands with cold water before cutting them up. But I must warn you, you have to keep doing this every few minutes.

So now, I have my cookies off the baking tray, what next! The weather was just perfect, it was raining outside, nothing better than to make a cup of hot tea and nibble on the cookies. So I grabbed 2 (ok, maybe 3) and I sat in the balcony munching away. They were Goooooood. They were gooey on the inside. Chocolaty, yet crunchy and they just melted in my mouth. Heaven personified!! I would have called it “Drops of Heaven”, but I’m fairly certain that that title is reserved for my next cookie recipe.

Once I was done, I had a sugar high. I’m packing the remaining for my husband to take to work, because I cant be trusted with them at home. Figure I might as well spread a little love today (spread a little something to remember – Thank you Philly Cream cheese)

 S'more cookie scoops

Since I only used a handful of marshmallows, I’ve still got to hunt for more delicious things to do with them. Next on the agenda is  “cherry stuffed marshmallow coated in chocolate”.. hahaha… now that sounds like fun!!

Leave a Reply

